The NHL Playoffs and Logic, aka “Yeah right, I’m wearing the Yzerman jersey today”

Based on careful and precise research (read: noting of friends’ tweets and status updates), I’ve come to the conclusion that hockey fans are the most superstitious fans on Earth. I knew it way before that, but since Facebook and Twitter weren’t around then I obviously couldn’t use them for my official observations (never let it be said that I don’t take all matter of research seriously). To be fair, I’m one of you.

Everyone knows about playoff beards, but that just doesn’t work for me. The first time I tried a playoff beard was in 1998, and it was a patchy mess for about two to three weeks before I was asked to be a pallbearer at a funeral and had to shave it. Red Wings ended up winning the Cup that year anyway, so for the sake of anyone I know that would also be the last year I’d attempt a playoff beard. So my hat’s off to you if you can pull it off, and don’t mock me for not doing it: it’s for your safety.

Of course, there are other ways that a superstition manifests itself. I know of some ladies that are growing out their leg hair for the duration of the Red Wings run, and a few that are giving up sweets (and I’m glad for them, the only place I want to see a lady with a beard is at the circus…and I don’t even want to see it there). I’m not immune to this; back in 2008 I wouldn’t play NHL 08 within 24 hours of a Wings playoff game (bear with me, played it before the Wings/Stars Game 5 WCF game and we all know how that turned out). That year I also wouldn’t break out the Yzerman jersey for wear unless it was a big game–yes, I wore that jersey for both Game 6 of the WCF and Game 6 of the Stanley Cup final. Yes, that carried over to 2009, and the routine was successful…until June 12 (and that’s all we’re going to say about that).

Now deep down inside, I know full well there’s simply no way what I wear, what I do or don’t do has absolutely no bearing on whether the Red Wings win or lose, on whether Jimmy makes that save or whether Zetterberg gets the hat trick. Even when I used to play, I knew deep down inside that the order I put the pads on, not stepping on the lines, or circling the net 3 times had no bearing on my performance…but it was comfortable. So yes, even though logic tells me otherwise, I will wear those grey sweatpants and my orange Extra Pulp t-shirt from Threadless that I wore before Game 2 tomorrow as the Wings play Game 3 against the Coyotes. Whatever works, dammit–logic doesn’t apply during the playoffs, and I know I’m not the only one. The Scotch I drank during Game 1? Didn’t drink it during Game 2…ah, crap.

Well, at least I’ll remember it all.

So what’s working for you?

1 Comment

Filed under Sports, Uncategorized

One response to “The NHL Playoffs and Logic, aka “Yeah right, I’m wearing the Yzerman jersey today”

  1. I am totally against wearing black. I wore black during game 1 and was not a very good sign to wear nor was it a good thing.

    Plus, a friend wore black yesterday and his two teams lost. The Habs and Canucks.

    I have enough Red Wings stuff to last me even if I don’t have a wearable jersey. I have four signed jerseys (Yzerman, Datsyuk, Zetterberg and Lidstrom) and I need to get Cleary and Helm.

    So I will stick to wearing Red Wings gear under my uniform and every day they play.

    How long did you play hockey for?

Leave a Reply

