Shows that need to be added to streaming services immediately

Holy crap, it’s been almost a full year since I posted last??? Ooops, my apologies to all two of my readers for keeping you waiting for so long.

What the hell has been going on with you lately, and where have you been???

So glad you asked, and the answer is: not much. Things are going very well, though: still have my health, great family, great friends, an awesome girlfriend, and a bunch of other things to help kill the time. My sports teams are doing well, Brady Hoke has brought Michigan football back from the disaster of the [name redacted] era, and this winter wasn’t really much of a winter at all (although these warm temps the last few days are going to seem far away once the Tigers Opening Day hits and it’s 30 degrees out and snowing…c’mon, you know it’s Michigan).

Just decided now is as good a time as any to post, and tv shows streamed online seemed a good place to start. Seems like just about anyone has access to Netflix, Amazon Prime Instant Videos, Hulu, or any other instant streaming service I haven’t thought of yet. I was thinking about shows that simply aren’t on any of those services though, and seem like they never will be there (and my response to that is: WHY???). Sure I could just buy the dvd’s for all of these shows, but for some reason once I buy a dvd set I don’t even bother watching it, and that happens with a lot of the movies I buy too. Seriously, I bought Boondock Saints on DVD almost ten years ago from Tower Records in Chicago (a store that’s no longer there, I might add) and I still haven’t watched it. No idea why.

So anyway, here’s the list of shows that I think would be in high demand for viewing on instant stream sites…

Aaron Sorkin's masterpiece: The West Wing

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. The West Wing: OH NO!!!! LIBERAL SCUM SHOWING HIS LIBERAL AGENDA!!! RUN AWAY!!!! *conservative leaves website, never to return*

Ok now that I’m down to one reader, the West Wing was a popular show that ran on NBC (maybe their last truly popular show?) from 1999-2006. It was brilliantly written by Aaron Sorkin (and others, click the link above) and had an exceptional ensemble cast led by Martin Sheen as President Josiah “Jed” Bartlet. It wasn’t afraid to tackle social issues and current events. Just how close it was to the real West Wing is up to debate but I thoroughly enjoyed the show.

Homicide

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Homicide: Life on the Street: Created by Paul Attanasio and based off of David Simon’s book Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets (the author’s name might be familiar to fans of the HBO show “The Wire”-one of the best shows ever made), this focused on a Homicide unit in Baltimore, Maryland. This also featured an ensemble cast but Andre Braugher’s performance as tough veteran detective Frank Pembleton was usually the most noticed. Perhaps the reason this show isn’t streaming now is simply because the show was usually low rated throughout its entire 7 season run. If this show ever hits Netflix though, I highly recommend checking it out.

A Bruce Campbell show that hardly anyone watched *sigh*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. The Adventures of Brisco County, Jr.: A short-lived series that ran on Fox  for 27 episodes back in 1993-1994, it featured Michigan’s own Bruce Campbell as the title character hired to hunt down the outlaw John Bly gang. Since I’d just seen Army of Darkness earlier in the year, I was really curious about this show and it didn’t disappoint. A Western with sci-fi and steampunk elements? What’s not to like?

I’m sure I’m missing quite a few more off of this list *cough*Batman: The Animated Series*cough*, but those are the ones that stuck out to me. Have more to add? Feel free to mention them in the comments section…and maybe, just maybe, I’ll write more than once every 11 months.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Movies, and Stuff

Leave a Reply

