40 for 40, Part Two

So yesterday I started a list of 40 songs and published the first 20 here, just in case you haven’t seen it. If you have already seen it (and I thank you for coming back to check out more), it’s time to wrap up this list. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, and if any of these songs end up stuck in your head well, sorry (I’m not sorry).

21. DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince – The Fresh Prince of Bel Air

Now this is a story all about how my life got flipped, turned upside down

and I’d like to take a minute just sit right thereI’ll tell you how I became Prince of a town called Bel-Air

Since this is now stuck in your head, I think I can move on now.

22. The Who – The Seeker

They’ve got more notably famous tunes like “My Generation”, “Baba O’Riley”, “Won’t Get Fooled Again”, and “Who Are You” but this one is my favorite. There’s a message in that song somewhere, but I’m tired of desperately looking for it so I’m not going to.

23. The Charlie Daniels Band – The Devil Went Down to Georgia

One of the few country songs I don’t mind, it’s just a lot of fun-and Charlie Daniels plays the fiddle like I’d never heard played before this song. Love listening to it.

24. Frank Sinatra – The Way You Look Tonight

His amazing voice just makes this favorite of mine even better. I know a bunch of singers have performed this one (Sinatra’s was also a remake since the song was originally performed by Bing Crosby and Dixie Lee), but in my opinion this version is the best.

25. James Morrison – You Give Me Something

Confession time: no matter what I’m still a hopeless romantic. This song just has soul and a great melody, and it’s one of those I can listen to on repeat. Feels like hope for a better day.

26. Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody

This song was one of their best even before it resurfaced thanks to the movie Wayne’s World. Freddie Mercury’s amazing vocals are on full display in this classic, and hearing the band perform this is electric.

27. Sara Bareilles – Uncharted

Typical pop fare, but I just love her voice and the piano work throughout the song. Would love to see her live someday, seems like she puts on a very good show!

28. Bill Withers – Use Me

I love the bass line in this song…and while this song reminds me of Any Given Sunday or She’s Out of My League now, it also reminds me of a couple of people I used to know a long while ago and that’s all I have to say about that.

29. Johnny Cash – Ring of Fire

The Man in Black has some great tunes, and this might be the one memorable to most. Don’t really have much else to say, although one person reading might be wondering why it took so long for Mr. Cash to show up here in the first place (and for the record I’m playing all the songs on random).

30. Imagine Dragons – It’s Time

Sure the song is fairly new, but it’s got a great feel to it that just seems to resonate with everything that’s been going on with me lately. No matter what happens I really don’t like letting anyone down, but I won’t change who I am either.

31. Dave Brubeck Quartet – Take Five

Whenever I need to relax a bit, I just turn this song on and close my eyes for a few. Dream of someplace warm, sunny-preferably a beach. Drink in one hand, slice of bacon in the other. All problems go away for a bit (whether it’s the tune, the drink or the bacon that makes it so, I’ll leave that up to you-sometimes you need all three depending on the problem).

32. Norah Jones – One Flight Down

Her voice just has this almost hypnotic effect on me, and on this song it’s just perfect-her voice and the melody just blend in perfect harmony. It’s a mellow tune but I can’t help but smile while listening to it.

33. The University of Michigan Marching Band – The Victors

Best fight song in the land, don’t even bother trying to argue against this because you’ll be wrong (keep dreaming, ND). Also makes me think of fall Saturdays, tailgating and waiting with 110,000+ friends for the band and the football team to come out and lay waste to whoever dare sets foot on the field to play them (Rich Rod era not included). Leaders and best!

34. The Temptations – Ain’t Too Proud to Beg

A Motown classic.

35. Joe – No One Else Comes Close

In the lead up to this project, I got into a big R&B kick-and this is just one of those tunes I could never get tired of listening to. Hopeless romantic, all that stuff.

36. Led Zeppelin – When the Levee Breaks

They’ve got other songs they are more known for, but this is the one that I like the most-the drums, guitars, and harmonica just all blend together in this sweet Bluesy piece topped off by Robert Plant’s vocals.

37. Squeeze – Tempted

All that really needs to be said is that this song reminds me of someone I used to know. This song was actually remixed in the early 90’s and featured on the Reality Bites soundtrack, and I like that version even more than the original.

38. Van Morrison – Brown Eyed Girl

It was a tossup between this song, Moondance, and Tupelo Honey (all classics). This is ultimately the most memorable for me, past and present. Bass line is fun to play, too.

39. Otis Redding – (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay

One of those timeless classics I simply can’t get enough of. On a side note, also liking the amount of jazz and blues that made it to this list.

40. The Police – Every Little Thing She Does is Magic

This goes back to something I mentioned in a previous post: the song just reminds me of one of those nights that turned memorable and eventful when it didn’t look like it would happen that way at the beginning of the night. Besides that, it’s also just a catchy, fun tune that feels 1980s.

So there you have it-the 40. Hope you enjoyed reading, I thank you for making it this far-and if you come up with a list of your own I’d love to see it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Movies, and Stuff

Leave a Reply

